Culture VR - Numerica

Numerica

about

Numerica is a multimedia artwork. At the first approach, it is a photographic painting, a photo showing the codes and the appearance of a painting. Based on the 17th century’s Dutch trompe-l’oeil, it represents a still life with the five senses. Created in studio, photographed and retouched, this composition offers a game of discovery, as a proof of the past showing anachronisms.

The exercise of the trompe-l’oeil is defined by the will to reduce as much as possible the distance between the painting and the spectator by illusions. Virtual reality allows us to push this principle to its extreme by taking the viewer into the space of the canvas. This is where the second approach of Numerica makes sense. The spectator is no longer in front of the canvas, he is inside. But instead of just visiting, contemplating what’s around him, he’ll be able to interact with it.

The work becomes alive and invites dialogue with its observer. He is invited to create a musical composition by touching the objects. It is then that the walls collapse and the landscape grows to emancipate itself, creating the illusion of vertigo to the viewer. Numerica makes it possible to change the relation that the spectator has with a work. From a frontal report, he goes to an immersion.

From a passive point of view, he becomes active, actor and creator of the work itself. However, is the viewer really in the work ? Is not this once again an illusion?

format(s)

Interactive / Moving position

Description : The benchmark VR format.

Platform compatibilty : Oculus Rift, HTC Vive

Technical Requirements : VR Headset, dedicated space (3m b 3m mini), compatible desktop PC, Power outlet, headphone, Internet connection

Tutorial : Contact production

User Mediation: Contact production

language(s)

Anglais
Français

Culture VR - Numerica

Numerica

à propos

Numerica est une oeuvre multimédia, une double oeuvre. A la première approche, elle est un tableau-photographique, une photo reprenant les codes et l’apparence d’une peinture. Se basant sur le trompe-l’oeil hollandais du XVIIe siècle, elle représente une nature morte aux cinq sens.

Créée de toute pièce, photographiée puis retouchée, cette composition propose un jeu de découverte, comme une preuve du passé laissant paraître des anachronismes. L’exercice du trompe-l’oeil se définit par la volonté de réduire au maximum la distance entre l’œuvre et le spectateur par des jeux d’illusion. La réalité virtuelle permet donc de pousser ce principe à son extrême en emmenant le spectateur dans l’espace de la toile.

C’est ici que la deuxième approche de Numerica prend tout son sens. Le spectateur n’est plus devant la toile, il est dedans. Mais au lieu de simplement visiter, contempler ce qui l’entoure, il va pouvoir interagir avec. L’œuvre devient vivante et invite à dialoguer avec son observateur. Il est ainsi amené à créer une composition musicale en touchant les objets. C’est alors que les murs s’effondrent et que le paysage grandit afin de s’émanciper. Numerica permet de changer le rapport qu’a le spectateur avec une oeuvre.

D’un rapport frontal, il passe à une immersion. D’un point de vue passif, il devient actif, acteur et créateur de l’œuvre même. Cependant, le spectateur est-il réellement dans l’œuvre, n’est-ce pas là une fois de plus un jeu d’illusion ?

format(s)

Expérience Interactive / Postion mobile

Description : La VR interactive de référence

Compatibilité : Oculus Rift, HTC Vive

Equipements requis : Casque VR, Espace dedié (minimum 3m by 3m par casque VR), PC compatible, casque audio, prises de courant, connexion Internet pour chaque casque

Tutoriel:

Personel de médiation : 1 à 2 personnes par poste de démo

language(s)

Anglais
Français