Raqi Syed

Raqi Syed

Raqi Syed began her career in animated featured films as a Lighting Artist for Disney Feature Animation. She is currently lecturer at the University of Victoria in Wellington, where she teaches the use and design of visual effects for cinema.

bio

Raqi Syed began her career in animated feature films as a Lighting Artist for Disney Feature Animation on productions such as Meet The Robinsons and Tangled. From there she worked as a Technical Director at Weta Digital on films such as Avatar, The Planet of The Apes and The Hobbit.

She is currently lecturer at the University of Victoria in Wellington, where she teaches visual effects, lighting, character design, and design ideation. Her academic research focuses on the relationship between narration and new technologies. In 2016, she received the “Digital Futures” scholarship from the University of Victoria to study the relationship between the narrative strategies used in cinema and virtual reality.

Raqi Syed

Raqi Syed

Raqi Syed a commencé sa carrière dans le long-métrage d’animation en tant que Lighting Artist pour Disney Feature Animation. Elle est actuellement maître de conférences à l’Université de Victoria à Wellington, où elle enseigne l'utilisation d'effets visuels pour le cinéma.

bio

Raqi Syed a commencé sa carrière dans le long-métrage d’animation en tant que Lighting Artist pour Disney Feature Animation sur des productions telles que Bienvenue chez les Robinsons et Raiponce. Par la suite, elle était au poste de Directrice Technique chez Weta Digital sur des films tels que Avatar, La Planète des Singes et Le Hobbit.

Elle est actuellement maître de conférences à l’Université de Victoria à Wellington, où elle enseigne les effets visuels, le lighting, la conception de personnages et d’univers narratifs. Ses recherches académiques portent sur la relation entre la narration et les nouvelles technologies. En 2016, elle reçoit la bourse “Digital Futures” de l’Université de Victoria pour investiguer la relation entre les stratégies narratives employées dans le cinéma et la réalité virtuelle.

contact