Culture VR - Hétérotopia

Hétérotopia

about

The underlying idea is inspired by the concept of heterotopia described by the philosopher Michel Foucault. In general, a heterotopia is a physical representation or an approximation of an utopia, or even a parallel, contradictory and transforming space. Worlds inside worlds.

In this project, Heterotopia is this space which does not exist apart in the memory of our characters. An invisible place that covers other places. A fictitious place that modifies our representations in a very real way. These immaterial worlds take shape in an encounter between photogrammetry, kinect and real scenography. It allows the participants to see their bodies in virtual reality and to play with an interactive material made of particles. By touching these clouds of points they raise the buildings of these worlds phantasmagoriated by the protagonists according to the sound stories.

The installation of Heterotopia requires little equipment (a VR helmet, a desk, a TV screen and a kinect) and therefore it adapts to different spaces. Its current themes seeking to evoke a possible and common future bring a real interaction between the participants and with the spectators. To support this deep collaboration, it is possible to add a projection of the virtual environment, as it was done at the Forum des images (see Device p.5), and thus visualize all the bodies located close to the area of experience thanks to the kinect.

format(s)

Immersive installation, multisensorial

Description : The ultimate immersive experience

Platform compatibilty : Oculus Rift, HTC Vive

Technical Requirements : Specific hardware, software and operating processes, according to technical rider form the producer.

Tutorial : Contact production

User Mediation: Contact production

Interactive / Moving position

Description : The benchmark VR format.

Platform compatibilty : Oculus Rift, HTC Vive

Technical Requirements : VR Headset, dedicated space (3m b 3m mini), compatible desktop PC, Power outlet, headphone, Internet connection

Tutorial : Contact production

User Mediation: Contact production

language(s)

Anglais
Français

Culture VR - Hétérotopia

Hétérotopia

à propos

L’idée sous-jacente est inspirée par le concept d’hétérotopie décrit par le philosophe Michel Foucault. En général, une hétérotopie est une représentation physique ou encore l’approximation d’une utopie, d’un espace parallèle, contradictoire et transformant. Des mondes dans les mondes.

L’hétérotopie est ici cet espace qui n’existe pas à part dans la mémoire de nos personnages. Un lieu invisible qui recouvre les autres lieux. Un lieu fictif qui modifie nos représentations de façon bien réel. Ces mondes immatériels prennent forment dans une rencontre entre photogrammétrie, kinect et scénographie réelle. Elle permet aux participants de voir leur corps dans la réalité virtuelle et de jouer avec une matière interactive faite de particules. En effleurant ces nuages de points ils élèvent au gré des récits sonores les bâtiments de ces mondes fantasmés par les protagonistes.

L’installation d’Hétérotopia nécessite peu de matériel (un casque VR, un bureau, un écran TV et une kinect) et s’adapte donc à différents espaces. Ses thématiques actuelles cherchant à évoquer un avenir possible et commun apportent une véritable interaction entre les participants et même avec les spectateurs. Pour appuyer cette profonde collaboration, il est envisageable d’ajouter une projection de l’environnement virtuel, comme cela a été réalisé au Forum des images (voir Dispositif p.5), et ainsi visualiser tous les corps situés proche de la zone d’expérience grâce à la kinect.

production et distribution

format(s)

Expérience Interactive / Position mobile

Description : La VR interactive de référence

Compatibilité : Oculus Rift, HTC Vive

Equipements requis : Casque VR, Espace dedié (minimum 3m by 3m par casque VR), PC compatible, casque audio, prises de courant, connexion Internet pour chaque casque

Tutoriel:

Personel de médiation : 1 à 2 personnes par poste de démo

Installation immersive, multi sensorielle

Description : L'immersion la plus poussée

Compatibilté : Oculus Rift, HTC Vive

Equipements requis : Equipements specifiques, selon specifications techniques du producteur

Tutoriel : Contact production 

Personel de médiation : Contact production 

language(s)

Anglais
Français