about

Institut français

The Institut français is a public institution in charge of implementing France’s cultural action abroad. Under the auspices of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Culture, its mission is to promote French culture worldwide and foster exchanges with foreign cultures.

Its action is at the crossroads of artistic creation, intellectual exchanges, cultural and social innovation and linguistic cooperation. It lends its support, all over the world, to the promotion of the French language, circulation of works, artists and ideas in creative areas (cinema, visual arts, performing arts, digital technology, literature, philosophy, etc.), thus fostering the wide production and acknowledgement of French talent.

The Institut français actively contributes to ‘‘diplomacy of influence’’ in France. Its projects and programmes take local context into account and rely on its unique ability for implementation through its vast Cultural Services network of embassies and consulates, instituts français and Alliances françaises present on five continents.

Digital technology is a strategic priority of the Institut français and the Cultural Network. It is a means for disseminating culture, a full cultural topic in its own right, and a new tool for creation. For several years now, at the intersection of these three dimensions, French professionals have been creating, inventing and rolling out unique know-how, with innovation, creativity and uniqueness now appreciated the world over.

Such overviews of cultural innovation, its first opus being VR culture, aims at establishing a complete inventory on a single website, one that is unique, multilingual and contributory, in the realm of digital creation.

Its aims are to foster, through the presentation of works and authors, the promotion of French achievements as well as set up a benchmark website for professionals where all useful information (i.e. glossary, contacts, training programmes, tutorials, etc.) can be provided.

The Institut français wishes to assist all sectors linked to cultural innovation in their development, acknowledgement abroad and presence in a worldwide ecosystem. It will soon implement two new overviews, one dedicated to ‘‘Innovative books’’ and the other to ‘‘cultural videos’’.

À propos

L’Institut français

L’Institut français est l’établissement public chargé de l’action culturelle extérieure de la France. Sous l’égide du ministère de l’Europe et des affaires étrangères et du ministère de la culture, sa mission est de promouvoir la culture française à l’international et de favoriser le dialogue avec les cultures étrangères.

Son action s’inscrit au croisement de la création artistique, des échanges intellectuels, de l’innovation culturelle et sociale, et de la coopération linguistique. Il soutient à travers le monde la promotion de la langue française, la circulation des œuvres, des artistes et des idées dans tous les domaines de la création (cinéma, arts visuels, spectacles vivants, numérique, littérature, philosophie…) et favorise ainsi la diffusion et la valorisation des talents français.

L’Institut français contribue activement à la diplomatie d’influence de la France. Ses projets et programmes prennent en compte les contextes locaux et reposent sur une capacité unique de déploiement à travers le vaste réseau des services culturels des ambassades et consulats, des Instituts français et des Alliances françaises présents sur les cinq continents.

Le numérique est une priorité stratégique de l’Institut français et du réseau culturel : il est à la fois un vecteur de diffusion de la culture, un sujet culturel à part entière et un nouvel outil de création. Depuis plusieurs années, à l’intersection de ces trois dimensions, les professionnels français créent, inventent et déploient des savoir-faire inédits dont l’innovation, la créativité et la singularité sont reconnues dans le monde entier.

Les panoramas de l’innovation culturelle, dont culture vr constitue le premier opus, se donnent pour objectif de présenter au sein d’un site unique, multilingue et contributif, un état des lieux complet sur un secteur de la création numérique.
Ils se donnent pour missions, à la fois de favoriser, par la présentation des œuvres et des auteurs, la promotion des réalisations françaises ; mais aussi de constituer un site de référence pour les professionnels où sont répertoriées toutes les informations utiles : glossaire, contacts, formations, tutoriels…

L’Institut français souhaite accompagner l’ensemble des secteurs de l’innovation culturelle dans leur structuration, leur valorisation à l’international et leur existence dans un écosystème mondial. Il réalisera prochainement deux nouveaux panoramas, l’un dédié au « Livre innovant » et l’autre au « Jeu vidéo culturel ».